Spring Babies

Every year during that wonderful transition between winter and summer comes a season which brings all things new…chicks, puppies, kittens, calves, foals, ducklings and so on. This is the time of year that I have a hard time keeping my eyes on the road because I keep watching all the baby calves frolicking in the fields around me; there is just something about the regeneration of life that is so fascinating.

At our place we haven’t had any babies since Sadie was a pup {3 years ago} and since most of our cats are getting up there in age {Sugarpie is going on 15!} I decided it was time for some new family members. I found an ad in the paper for free kittens at one of the local veterinary offices so I grabbed a carrier and went to go check them out. I wish I had taken my camera with me because there were kittens everywhere! I believe there were 12 total…how could I ever pick out just two? We wanted boys {to eliminate the procreation of more babies next year} so that narrowed the field down a little, but after that it was all based on looks and personality. There was one little grey tabby sitting very quietly in his cage while the others scurried around on the floor and when I picked him up he was incredibly calm…one down, one to go. The other little one I chose was a fuzzy white and cream bloched kitten with a big forehead…so cute!

As I drove them home with their carrier in the backseat, suddenly the oh-so-calm grey tabby started wailing and he did not stop until we got home, the other one just sat there thinking nothing of his new brother’s crys. We fixed them up a place to live in our laundry room while they get used to things and we’ll gradually introduce them to the outdoors and the other cats.

Now, what to name them? I decided to name the grey tabby Hyde after his quick personality change in the car ride home and Ben named the other kitten Sylvester.

Here are my little boys on their first day exploring the back porch!

hyde

sylvester

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

