Pinecones

I LOVE THEM.

Don’t ask me why, but every time I see a pinecone I get a little giddy inside. They are just such beautiful works of nature’s art; I mean seriously…it’s just a bunch of seeds, but how stunningly arranged! I remember always gathering them in my grandparents’ yard and then we would bring them home to use as fire-starters in our wood stove when it was cold.

Now, of course, I’ve turned to more crafty and decorative uses for them. Just last year I drove around Bryan/College Station searching for fallen pinecones to make these Christmas decorations with. Though I hardly ever indulge my obsession {newlywed, saving for a house, recession}, my love for pinecones continues to grow…especially with the Fall season in full swing.

I happened upon this gorgeous pinecone pendant necklace on Etsy, which {since I bookmarked it} has sold out…darn.

il_430xN.95156061

And these lovely LED sugared pinecone lights from Target…

Screen shot 2009-11-10 at 9.22.19 AM

Now for my all-time favorite pinecone find…I have fallen in love with this pinecone-shaped soap dispenser, also from Target. Every time I go there now I just have to walk by it and pick it up one more time. I know that I’m just going to put off buying it until I have some spare money and the moment I decide to go get it, there will be none left…such is life.

pinecone

Here’s a few more photos of pinecone-inspired decor that I’ve been drooling over for the past couple of hours:

{from Country Living}

Pinecone-Tree-Decoration-GTL1206-de

Wish I could have some of these huge ones to decorate with!

Pinecone-Decorations-Fireplace-GTL1206-de

Easy-peasy DIY pinecone ornaments!

Pinecone-Handmade-Holiday-Ornament-GTL1206-de

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

