‘Tis the Season

It’s finally here; the time of year that I look forward to most. Thanksgiving has come and gone, gift shopping has begun, one by one houses are adorned with lights and I can finally listen to my Christmas music publicly {though I have been in secret for a week now}. There’s just something about the Christmas season that fills my heart with joy; everyone is a little more cheery, a little more loving and a little more giving. Giving is so much fun for me, I’m one of those people that will think of the perfect gift for someone in the middle of July, buy it and save it for Christmas. There’s nothing quite like seeing a smile inspired by a gift given {which is why I am not a gift card giver}.

Yesterday I decorated our apartment with my small collection of Christmas decor; we don’t have much but I’m perfectly content with that, there won’t always be a time when our lives were this simple and uncluttered. Every piece has a memory and that’s how I want to keep it, if I went out and bought a ton of decorations on a whim they would have no meaning. I’ve got my small penguin collection which were all gifts from family and friends, a little ceramic snowman and angel that I made at U Paint It with Jess and two hand-blown ball ornaments that Ben and I actually blew ourselves a few Christmas’ back. When I look at these things I’m reminded of the stories they hold, stories of family, friends and time together; isn’t that what Christmas is all about?

After reading The Five Love Languages book {amazing, everyone should read it} I’ve discovered that my love language is quality time, I feel most loved when I spend time with those that I love. Knowing this, it makes perfect sense that Christmas is my favorite holiday; when else do you use 5+ vacation days to be with those that you love the most?

For me, Christmas holds so many memories of family, love and tradition and now that Mark and I will be beginning some new traditions of our own now that we’re married, I can’t help but reminisce about some of my favorite memories of Christmas’ past.

– Christmas Eve barn service: our church would hold a short service in a barn; we would sit on hay bales in the cold and truly experience the settings in which Jesus was born.

– Delivering gifts: our church would collect gifts for less fortunate families in the area and our family made it a tradition to always help deliver those gifts.

– Always getting tools as gifts: my dad is a very handy person, therefore my brother and I would always get some tool as one of our gifts.

– Christmas of 1995: my parents created a scavenger hunt, the last step being to reel in a key at the end of a fishing pole in our pond which unlocked our shed inside of which was Shadow {our now 14 year old black lab}

– Multi-colored lights: our family is not a white lights kind of family; our tree was always covered with colored lights and home-made ornaments {I was so glad to hear that Mark is also a multi-colored lights person, thank goodness we’ll never have to argue about that one}

– Cookies: Christmas is the one time of year that we would make and decorate cut-out sugar cookies and use my mom’s cookie gun; we would always make plates of cookies for our friends and neighbors.

– Our wood-burning stove: it always made our living room the perfect temperature and gave it a hint of that smoky smell.

– Kitties in my lap: there’s nothing like a warm kitty in your lap on a chilly day.

– Sorting gifts: for as long as I can remember my brother and I would sort out all of the gifts under the tree once a week or so; we would make a pile for every person and count the gifts in each pile, it was just a fun excuse to look at and shake every present.

– Garfield Christmas: sadly, this Christmas cartoon isn’t repeatedly aired every December like a Charlie Brown Christmas but it’s still my favorite…they have it on YouTube here.

– Getting toothbrushes in our stockings

– Finding a tree: we never went to a Christmas tree farm, we would always get our trees from a friend’s property; of course, they were never perfect but nature isn’t about uniformity, they had character!

– Kitties sleeping under the tree: we would always find them sleeping amongst the presents.

– The Carpenters: best Christmas album ever, no question.

Tags:

2 Responses to “‘Tis the Season”

  1. jacob Says:

    you do have quite a few great home-centered traditions. while it is sad that some will not be experienced this year, what with a new life and new city, it will be exciting to see what we all do to create our own family Christmas traditions. being aggies, it shouldn’t be hard to come up with a few…

  2. Courtney Says:

    Aw, and I must add OUR Christmas together in our freshmen year dorm :) We had so much fun decorating our sweet little space. As you know, this is my favorite time of the year too! Hope you and Mark have a very sweet, memorable first Christmas as husband and wife!!

Leave a Reply

