Jackson Browne

Almost two years ago during my internship in Sacramento I had the opportunity to catch Jackson Browne’s solo acoustic tour stop in Stockton with my friend Jamie. My dad has a great love for J.Browne {second only to the Eagles I believe} and initially he was going to join us at the concert but things didn’t work out. I went anyways and it was quite bittersweet; I absolutely LOVED the event and had a great time but I couldn’t help wishing that I had my dad there to share the moment with.

Then a few months ago I randomly saw an ad on Facebook for tickets to see Jackson in Austin of all places. For the past few years he’s toured exclusively in CA at benefit concerts and his solo acoustic tour hadn’t broken into the south yet so I was quite surprised to see he was coming to Texas. So Mark and I grabbed four tickets and broke the news to my dad on his birthday in October. I was so happy that we had another chance to see him live together.

Jackson Browne is such an amazing artist, his lyrics have so much meaning and hearing it all acoustic is quite a treat. All that is present on the stage is a large, antique-looking rug, a keyboard, one solitary chair and a rack holding his 15+ guitars. Throughout the concert people from the audience shouted out requests while Jackson would talk in between songs; when I witnessed this in CA I first thought it was pretty disrespectful but turns out that’s how his whole tour is. Somehow he manages to make that huge concert hall feel like a tiny room of 20 people, talking to us as if to a friend…very casual and real. Some of my favorite lyrics of his are from his song For a Dancer:

Keep a fire for the human race
Let your prayers go drifting into space
You never know what will be coming down
Perhaps a better world is drawing near
And just as easily it could all disappear
Along with whatever meaning you might have found
Don’t let the uncertainty turn you around
Go on and make a joyful sound
Into a dancer you have grown
From a seed somebody else has thrown
Go on ahead and throw some seeds of your own
And somewhere between the time you arrive
And the time you go
May lie a reason you were alive
But you’ll never know

I love those last few lines…we’ll never know what our purpose is, all we can do is give what we have and find meaning through it all.

Here’s an amateur video of For a Dancer from his acoustic tour {notice all the guitars}.

Here’s another video of a song called Going Down to Cuba.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

