Green Smoothie Experiment

Lately, I’ve been searching for a way to fit more fruits and green vegetables into my everyday diet and I think I’ve found a solution…green smoothies! It just makes perfect sense to me, I love fresh fruit smoothies so why not throw in a handful of leafy greens and make it even better?

After a little research I found that drinking green smoothies has a TON of healthy benefits including increased energy, regular digestion, healthier skin & hair, reduced appetite and not to mention it makes you feel good! I know that when I eat healthy I feel more motivated to exercise and vice versa; but that goes the other way too, when I eat crappy food I feel like being a slug. Of course this is all a challenge that we each face everyday, such is the omnivore’s dilemma {great book so far}.

My thought process is this: the more raw foods I consume, the more steps I’m taking out of the trip our food’s energy makes from the sun into my system. For example, with spinach {or any plant}, the sun’s energy is harvested through photosynthesis and then we eat the spinach…two steps. Then there’s the everyday breakfast cereal; sun to the grain, grain is dried and ground to a flour, then its mixed with things like sweeteners, flavoring agents, vitamins & minerals {that must be added because the natural ones are lost in the process}, that all gets cooked, then pressed and dyed into some shape attractive to children, which is then stored in plastic bags……you get the point, I don’t know how many steps to call that but the point is the more our food is messed with, the less natural nutrients remain in the final product.

…sorry, I tend to get up on my little soap box when I blog because it feels more like I’m just thinking and not typing something that someone actually might read, haha….ANYWAYS, on to the experiment!

I decided to start out with something simple, a strawberry banana smoothie. Ingredients included one ripe banana, 4 or 5 strawberries, a handful of spinach, water and a dash of cinnamon.

The first step was to cut up the fruit into chunks and place in the blender with about 1/4 cup of water and blend until smooth; I added a few ice cubes too. At this point the smoothie still looked normal and it tasted great.

Then came the spinach…

I added the cinnamon last after everything was already nice and creamy. It definitely looked like Nickelodeon slime, except with little flecks of spinach leaves. To my surprise it really didn’t taste that different after adding the spinach, just a tiny bit more “healthy” but nowhere near “grassy.”

This particular smoothie did turn out rather thick, I think I’ll add more water next time or maybe I’ll run by a smoothie shop and steal some of their huge, 1/2″ diameter straws. I’m looking forward to experimenting with creating some new recipes using different fruits and vegetables, should be fun!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Green Smoothie Experiment”

  1. jacob Says:

    Wow, that sounds and looks super! I will have to try one. And I totally agree wth you about the consumption of raw foods. We are honing this movement in Dallas where we get a 30lb surprise bucket of produce to use over a two week period. All organic. And they sell raw milk and cheeses, penit butter, etc. It’s definitely going to be a lifestyle change but I think it will be one for the best. Apparently the couple who started this have raised thier one year-old daughter on organics and raw and she hasn’t been sick once! That’s saying something.

  2. Kim Says:

    i would drinki it and lee would probably try it, but i’m not sure i could get the kids to give it a try…of course, i could lie and tell them i put green food coloring in it to make it fun…that might work. i hate lying to the kids, even though after they try something and like it i tell them the truth. like salmon patties….when we first had steven try them, we called them crabby patties (like on spongebob) it worked and he likes them and asks me to cook them.

Leave a Reply

