Green Smoothie: Day 2 & 3

So I had another green smoothie with my lunch yesterday, I brought it with me to work along with half a sandwich and a granola bar; to my surprise I could hardly finish all of what I had brought, that smoothie was so darn filling! I made the same strawberry/banana/spinach mixture and found that it was already starting to get a little boring. I’ve read that it’s good to change up what fruits and greens go into your smoothie day after day so that you get as many varying nutrients as possible.

With that thought in mind, Mark and I visited the Austin Farmer’s Market on 4th and Guadalupe this morning to scope out the scene {we had never been before} and find some other fresh greens. The market was great, the sunny weather and cool breeze made for a perfect day to walk around and see what all the vendors were selling. I bought a small bunch of baby swiss chard and a head of red lettuce, then we headed back to make lunch.

This time my smoothie consisted of some frozen strawberry/blueberry/raspberry fruit mix, a little orange juice and a handfull of the swiss chard. The change in fruit was nice but this one definitely tasted a little “green.” I knew going in that chard has a stronger, more bitter taste but the thicker and darker green the leaves are the better it is for you. All in all it turned out to be pretty tasty, it wasn’ t green in color this time thanks to all those red berries and the orange juice gave it some acidity.

I’m sure 90% of this is all in my head but I’ve felt more energetic the past few days. And when I start my day off by drinking a smoothie, I start my day with a healthy attitude. I think I’m going to start replacing my breakfasts with a smoothie; I’ve never been a huge fan of breakfast anyways {I’m not much of a morning person}.

My goal right now is to have one green smoothie a day for 14 days…so day 3 is down, 11 more to go!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Green Smoothie: Day 2 & 3”

  1. Tammy McLeod Says:

    WordPress listed your blog as a possibly related post to my own. I’m curious if you are still having green smoothies after you did the 14 day challenge. I’ve found that they are really easy to do each morning.

    • britneyanne Says:

      Hi Tammy!

      Yes, my husband and I continue to have smoothies almost daily. While they’re not always green, they’re always filled with fresh fruit. It’s such a nice and easy alternative to a heavy dinner after our evening workouts.

      I read through a couple of your blog posts and wow, keep it up, I’m definitely a follower now…I’m looking forward to trying your good morning green smoothie recipe tonight with some baby chard from my dad’s garden!

Leave a Reply

