90 Minutes of Heaven

I’m totally on a soccer high right now. There’s nothing quite like 90 minutes of good, hard, physical soccer.

Last November I found a woman’s league to join in Round Rock and our team has grown together pretty well; I feel like I really belong on this team and that I’m an important part of it. We’ve got a few girls that played in college, some played in high school and others just have a passion for the game, like me. So far this season we’re undefeated; I always seem to be on the team that gets second place so winning for a change is feels great. It’s so awesome to be back in the game after not being on a team for 8 years.

Soccer is so liberating for me, when I’m on the field all my insecurities are left behind and I am 100% confident in myself. I wish I could say I felt like that in every aspect of my life, but it’s something I’m working on improving. I enjoy the physical aspect of the game too, I missed having a contact sport to play throughout high school and college because I mostly played volleyball and tennis. I remember back when I played basketball in middle school, my dad always said that he would give me 25 cents a point when I scored and a dollar for every time I fouled someone. I think about that every time I have a foul called on me now; you’ve turned me into an animal dad! Don’t get me wrong, I don’t revel in intentionally dishing out pain, but a game without a little pushing and shoving just isn’t any fun!

Also, I think I’ve finally found the perfect position for me; left center mid. Being a midfielder challenges me; I’ve got to be efficient on defense as well as help set up attacks for the strikers. Now midfielders are also the ones who do the most running, we go up with the offense and drop back to help the defense…I hate running, at least mindless running on a treadmill. With soccer, I’m pretty much running off and on for an hour and a half but I’m not concentrating on the fact that I’m running, I’m thinking about playing.

Basically what I’m saying is that I love soccer, everything about it: the strategy, the finesse, the exercise, the challenge and the camaraderie; and I never want to stop playing!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

