My Week Without TV

Earlier this week I decided not to watch television for a while and see what would happen…

it…was…great.

I caught myself so many times headed for the couch just to relax for a minute, I didn’t realize how often I actually watched television. So I had to find other things to do; I read a lot of the Omnivore’s Dilemma, I cleaned, I organized, I made granola bars, I laid out, and not to mention this is my third post of the week. I had so much time to do stuff! To be honest, I don’t really feel like I missed much. It’s a lot harder to turn the TV off when it’s already on than to avoid turning it on in the first place.

In our gym here at the apartment complex there are televisions built into the cardio equipment and there is a huge flat screen on the wall that is always on. I brought my ipod so I could run without watching TV but the flat screen I had no control over since other people there were watching something on it while working out. From those few moments of having something on in the background during my week of no TV, I have come to these three conclusions:

1) I HATE COMMERCIALS. I feel that by watching commercials I’m letting them get to me in some way. It’s bad when you can sing along to the jingles.

2) TV is so vulgar. I flipped through a few channels just now and saw some female comedian going on about what she screams during sex…really? Seriously people, c’mon.

3) TV is a time machine. They should have made a movie called TV Time Machine instead of a hot tub because this thing is legit. It’s so easy to mindlessly sit and watch for a few hours and then all of the sudden you start seeing the commercials for girls gone wild or the hot girls you can call on the phone and you’re like, oh dang it’s already 1am….where did the time go?!

From all of this I have come up with a new rule for myself: don’t watch television unless there is a specific show on that you know you want to watch. There is one new show that I’m interested in which I will make an exception for, it’s called Food Revolution {check this out}. Anyone seen it yet?

Tags:

3 Responses to “My Week Without TV”

  1. jacob Says:

    congratulations! you made it a week. now for the 21 day mark, right?

    i completely agree with all of the above realizations. now it’s funny to hear people at work talking about these shows they watched and i’m thinking, hm, while i kind of wish i could relate, i am quite happy that i didn’t waste hours sitting in front of that tv like you did…

    i do miss a few shows, but that’s what hulu is for. :D

  2. Kim Says:

    i agree with your findings also, and that is why i love DVR! the show you are talking about is very interesting, but i missed it last night and had forgotten to set up the DVR to record it.

  3. Whitney Marion Says:

    Girlfriend, I completely know how you feel! I actually don’t have a tv (crazy, I know, and I can assure you it is not intentional). However, I actually get a TON of stuff done!

    Hope you and Mark are doing GREAT!

Leave a Reply

