Baking FAIL

I think I’ve lost my baking touch.

The last two times I’ve baked something it didn’t turn out right and I’m not sure why. Granted both of the recipes were off of the internet so you never know if it’s tried and true or not; but I got one of them from MarthaStewart.com, c’mon Martha, you’re supposed to be the expert!

My first baking mishap occurred a couple of weeks ago, I made blueberry muffins with cream cheese in them; sounded yummy to me. Now, the recipe specifically said it was OK to use frozen blueberries {which I did} but I think that’s where the whole thing went bad. As soon as the frozen berries got into the oven, they began to sweat and when the timer went off the dough was soggy everywhere there was a blueberry. Not to mention I had to bake them for literally twice the amount of time suggested on the recipe to get the muffins to a non-gooey state. Needless to say, they ended up in the trash.

So what? One recipe gone wrong…not necessarily my fault. But then today it happened again!

I wanted to make a half batch of chocolate cupcakes just to have something sweet/chocolate around the apartment because we never buy cookies or anything from the store. This recipe I got from Martha and it seemed pretty fool-proof. I whipped them up and popped them in the oven; when they came out they looked kind of small but I had stretched the batter to fill all 12 cupcake liners so that didn’t seem strange. Then I tried one…it was super dense, like it hadn’t risen at all. It still tasted fine but it wasn’t all nice and fluffy like cupcakes are supposed to be. Turns out I had skipped copying down the baking soda amount when I transferred the recipe from the computer onto a post-it. No soda = no rising = dense. UGH. What a complete waste of cute cupcake liners.

I am going to blame all of this on the fact that I don’t get to bake as much as I used to. I love baking…but Mark and I also love eating the yummy things that I bake. Therein lies the problem. I should just start a baking service, you tell me what you want and I’ll bake it for you, that way I can have fun baking but I don’t have to keep {or eat} the results! Anyone in the Austin area want some baked goods?

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Baking FAIL”

  1. Patricia Rand Says:

    Bake me something sweet, chewy, chocolate…nuts are good, so is the cream cheese! We had lunch at Fogo de Chao for Mandys birthday and they served the most AWESOME little birthday, chocolate, syrup drenched little thing. OMG, the BEST something I have EVER put my teeth. You MUST go get a piece next time you are in H=town!

  2. Granny’s Cinnamon Rolls « life by britney Says:

    […] Cinnamon Rolls By britneyanne Remember when I said I had lost my baking touch? Well, I’ve got some good […]

Leave a Reply

