Here We Go Again…

Almost exactly one year after my college graduation, I find myself in an almost identical position: unemployed and looking forward. Last Friday I found out that, due to corporate budget cuts, I would no longer be working at Grapevine. At first I was a little shocked, then angry, then completely relieved. Though I am extremely thankful for that job and the money that it provided for us, I despised it; I truly disliked going to work every day.

So I prayed and prayed and prayed because when I feel like there is nothing else for me to do, I pray. I knew that my prayers would be answered, it’s just a question of how; I’m always excited to see which way God will direct my life. In this situation He chose to give me time; time to search for a job, time to spend with my family, time to enjoy the sun, time to explore new things and time to relax. Frankly, I’m loving this new life He’s given me!

As far as the job search goes, I am setting my standards a little higher this time. I know what I’m capable of and I want to find something where I can use more of my talents every day. I’m still hopeful for landing a job in architecture but from what I have gathered from talking to various firms, everyone is still hesitant to start hiring again; apparently things just haven’t picked up enough to take on that risk. So in the meantime I’ll be exploring some other avenues while continuing to stick to creative-based careers.

I feel like I’ve served my time working 8 months at a crappy job. I am determined to find that perfect place where I belong; I’m ready for something that I love!

Tags: ,

One Response to “Here We Go Again…”

  1. jacob Says:

    YES! go and be merry.

    no seriously. everything happens for a reason. best of luck and we will be praying for you too.

    take some time to yourself before you start. but once you do, watch this everyday.

Leave a Reply

