A Peachy Weekend

Last weekend I spent a couple of days at home with my parents while Mark was out of town and my mom and I decided to make peach jam!

Early Saturday morning we hit up the Temple and Belton farmer’s markets and scored a half bushel of lovely, local peaches for just $20.

The first steps were to pick out the ripe peaches, rinse them off and remove the pits. Then we ran them through this juicer/grinder that squished out all of the juice and pulp, leaving behind just the skins.

Then we added a little honey, some sugar and the pectin and brought it all to a simmer on the stove.

Once the peach mixture was nice and bubbly we ladled it into some half pint jars, screwed on the lids and placed them in the water bath for about 10 minutes {this is the point at which the camera battery died so, sadly there aren’t any more in-process pictures}.

Once I got back home I cut a few circles out of some fabric that I had and put it under the lids to make them look all cute!

Making the peach jam with my mom was so great and every time I use some of the jam I’ll remember the time we spent making it together! I had forgotten how fun it is to can stuff; it takes a lot of time and effort but in the end you’re left with these wonderful jars of deliciousness that you can choose to keep or share with friends {plus you know what’s in it}.

Since we only used about half of the peaches to make the jam, I brought the rest home and last night Mark and I made peach hand pies. No, I didn’t know what hand pies were either until I started looking up peach recipes; they are basically what the name implies, little pies that you can eat with your hands. Every recipe that I could find was just a rendition of the one I found on Smitten Kitchen in which the crust is made from scratch. But since I didn’t feel like being that crazy I stole an idea from this Good Housekeeping recipe and used pre-made pie crusts instead. Needless to say they were AMAZING, Mark and I both ate one right after they came out of the oven; the only thing it needed was some vanilla ice cream!

I forgot to take a picture and they all got eaten when I took them to bible study this morning so here’s my adjusted recipe instead:

Bourbon Peach Hand Pies

1 T. butter

4 t. cornstarch

1/3 c. sugar + some for sprinkling

2 lb. {about 5 large} ripe peaches, unpeeled, pitted & chopped

dash salt

1 t. vanilla

2 T. bourbon

1 T. fresh lemon juice

2 pkg. unbaked pie crusts (4 crusts total)

1 egg, beaten

Take pie crusts out of refrigerator and let warm to room temperature.

In large, non-stick skillet melt butter over medium-low heat. Stir together peaches, sugar, salt, vanilla & bourbon; add to butter in skillet. Cook 20-25 minutes or until peaches are very tender and mixture has thickened and is bubbly {the smell of the peaches simmering with the vanilla and bourbon is to die for, seriously…you should make these}. Be sure to stir frequently. Remove skillet from heat and stir in lemon juice. Cool completely.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Unfold dough and cut into quarters. Wet edges of dough with water to help the dough stick to itself then spoon about 2 T. of peach filling onto the center of each dough piece. Fold dough over filling and seal edges by pressing with a fork. Transfer pies to cookie sheets.

Brush tops of pies with beaten egg, sprinkle with sugar. With knife, cut 2 slits in the tops of each pie.

Bake 18-20 minutes or until golden brown, rotating cookie sheets between upper and lower oven racks after 10 minutes. Serve with vanilla ice cream!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

