Making Our Apartment A Home

This past weekend Mark and I {with the help of some family and friends} moved into a smaller apartment; yes, I said smaller. We dropped down a couple hundred square feet in order to save an extra $130 per month on rent so we can reach our goal of paying cash for a house more quickly. Having a second bedroom for over a year allowed our “stuff” collection to expand into the unused space so when we decided on downsizing we sold a few things on craigslist that we knew we could live without and we both purged our closets and drawers. After moving everything into the new place, I honestly didn’t think it would all fit, but after a day or so of rearranging and organizing {a day of heaven for me} everything found a place to live.

Since we’re pretty dead set on this being the last place we live before moving into a house, we know that we’re going to be here for a couple of years; and since we’re already a good ways ahead on our savings outline, we decided that it would be nice to spend a little $$ on decorating. As soon as Mark agreed to this, the wheels in my mind started turning with ideas for our new place…

Over the years past since I discovered Google Reader I’ve been saving images of spaces that peak my interest; I call it my Inspiration Folder. It’s fun to look back through them every now and then and realize that I gravitate towards a particular style…very clean, lot’s of light, rich hardwoods and a touch of country.

Using my inspiration images as a spring-board, I’ve been searching online for items that will help make our new apartment feel more like home and here’s what I’ve come up with:

The two most important things that will pull this room together are the sofa slipcover and the rug; I’m just praying that the Pottery Barn cover will look decent on our sofa because as of now ours is red and green plaid and a new sofa is definitely not in the budget. I absolutely love the rug that I have in the mood board, the downsides are that I’d have to order it online {pay shipping $$}, it’s nearly half my budget, and the reviews say that it’s scratchy because it’s made from wool. Three strikes, you’re out.

Then I ran across this rug at Target yesterday:

I give it 3.5 stars; it’s nice and soft, has red, green and brown in the design, the price is good, but I’m just not 100% in love with it…I set the bar too high by finding that green rug first, grrr.

Lesson learned from hours of online shopping? It’s good for helping you figure out what you do and do not like BUT shopping in a store is way more productive {and fun}. My mom and I are going to do a little shopping together this weekend so hopefully I can make some headway on the decision making front. Most likely our decorating purchases will be spread out across the next couple of months but I’ll be sure to share updates as progress is made!

Anyone have suggestions for places to shop for reasonably priced rugs?

Tags:

2 Responses to “Making Our Apartment A Home”

  1. Dana Says:

    I recommend places like Bed Bath & Beyond, Target, Walmart, Tuesday Morning (if you have one), World Market, Home Goods, TJ Maxx and other like that. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

