Autumn Apple Pie

My first Autumn Bucket List item has officially been checked off! After making that list I quickly realized that visiting a pick-your-own apple orchard in Texas wasn’t going to happen because they simply don’t exist this far south; I’d have to live in Washington or some northwestern {or northeastern} state to get the full experience. Hopefully someday I’ll be able to visit an apple orchard like this one {as seen on b*spoke} but for now I can still bake a yummy apple pie!

Last week while I was picking up some milk for my parents at Dyer Dairy I bought some fresh Cameo apples from north Texas. They were so wonderfully crisp and delicious, I just knew I had to make a pie with some of them.

In the past my apple pies have always turned out a bit watery so I did some looking online for a solution and I think I found it. After mixing the sliced apples with the sugar and spices I let them sit in a bowl for 30 minutes to an hour, this allows the sugar to pull the juices from the apples before baking; then I drained the liquid and microwaved it until it was a thick, syrup consistency. Then I mixed the syrup back in with the apples before putting it in the pie crust.

I cheated and bought the pie crusts from the grocery store, it’s so hard to justify making your own when a 2-pack of crusts only costs around $2. I wanted to make it look pretty though, so I cut the top crust into strips and made a lattice top.

I think it turned out pretty darn good and Mark declared it the best apple pie he’d ever eaten; counts as a win in my book!

Here’s my approximate recipe {I say approximate because I kind of made it up}:

Apple Pie

4-6 medium apples, cored, peeled and thinly sliced

2 unbaked pie crusts

1/2 c. sugar

1/4 c. brown sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

2 Tbsp. butter

drizzle of dark maple syrup {if you want}

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and take your pie crusts out of the refrigerator.

Toss the sliced apples with the sugars, cinnamon, nutmeg and maple syrup. Let rest in a bowl for 30 minutes to an hour {don’t put in the refrigerator}.

Drain the liquid into a small bowl and microwave for 15-20 seconds at a time, stirring in between, until it reaches a syrup-like consistency. Be sure to watch the liquid carefully because it might boil over.

Mix the syrup and apples back together and pour into pie plate lined with first pie crust.

Top apples with butter cut into small pieces.

Cover apples with second pie crust, brush with water and sprinkle with sugar.

Bake for 45 minutes to 1hour. Let cool for 30 minutes before serving. Enjoy with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Autumn Apple Pie”

  1. Autumn Bucket List « life by britney Says:

    […] – Pick apples at an orchard and bake a pie {check} […]

  2. Grandpa and Jan Says:

    Mark/Chris is a very lucky man to be married to a woman who enjoys baking pies. well done but corection, correction, correction! You need not go to the northwest to experience a beautiful apple orchard. You did visit one of the best apple orchards/farms in the northEAST when we took you to Cider Hill Farms in Amesbury, MA Remember??

Leave a Reply

