Absence Makes the Heart Grow

Mark has been in Vegas on business for just over 3 days now and I absolutely cannot wait to go pick him up at the airport tonight. It still surprises me how much I miss him when he’s gone. We spent about a year and a half doing the semi-long distance thing, only seeing each other once every two weeks at best {throughout our entire engagement no less}; and as much as I hate reliving those lonely night memories, I kind of like when we’re apart for a few days now.

When I first dropped him off at the airport on Sunday I was a little sad but more so excited to have some time to myself. I listened to Christmas music without inhibitions {he’s not as big a fan as I am}, I watched Love Actually and I put up Christmas decorations. But after a day or so of only talking on the phone for a few minutes due to the time difference, I began to miss a bunch of little things about him that I never really knew I would miss. Mainly, it’s a lot harder for me to roll out of bed on time when he’s not there to steal my covers, forcing me to get up, ha!

Yes, I do believe that absence makes the heart grow fonder but I think that quote has a little more meaning when you drop off the last word: absence makes the heart grow. Being away from my husband is never fun but it’s always a huge growing experience for me. When he’s gone, I can’t wait for him to get back so I can love on him as much as possible; I yearn to make him happy, to make him feel loved, to give him a big hug and never let go. I miss him more than ever right now but it’s not a sad kind of missing, it’s an exciting kind of missing {if that exists}. I’m counting down the hours…

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

