Three Day Weekend

A couple of weeks ago Mark and I both took an extra day off from work so we could enjoy an extended weekend together. We had plans for camping the whole weekend and though it didn’t turn out quite like we had planned we still had a great time.

First, let me back up a few weeks…about a month ago I tried to make reservations at a state park within 2 hours of Austin and everything was booked, everything. I was so disheartened that I almost gave up on camping but Mark suggested we try a smaller park around Lake Travis. We settled on Sandy Creek which was only about a 30 minute drive; it’s a pretty small park with no electricity and only a few water faucets but we figured it would be better than nothing. Our friends Paulo and Amanda came too and at the last minute Mandy and Jake decided to join us as well, I’m so glad they did!

When we got to the park there wasn’t anyone at the front gate to charge us to get in and with the exception of a couple of run-ins with an over zealous park ranger and a group of boy scouts we never saw anyone else in the park. Woo-hoo for free camping! We spent Friday night huddled around the fire and listening to music; I had forgotten how relaxing that is. Mark and I had only one small flashlight that I kept in my car but we ended up not needing it because there was a full moon shining almost as bright as a street light, there were even shadows from the trees. We all had chili and cornbread for dinner and it was sooooo delicious. I had made the chili in our slow cooker the day before along with the cornbread and some banana bread too. The chili was so easy, I literally threw a bunch of stuff in the pot and let it cook for 8 hours, now that’s my kind of cooking!

Saturday morning we all hiked down to the lake and explored the rocky water line. Since this wasn’t a state park there were no hiking trails and we ran out of interesting things to explore around lunch time so we all piled into one car and took a scenic drive through the hill country around the lake. After 30 minutes of driving we ended up at the Oasis so we decided to stop and have margaritas and some chips and guacamole overlooking the lake.

It was a fun weekend with friends and I can’t wait for the weather to warm up so we can go again. Not to mention I crossed a couple things off of my Autumn bucket list!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Three Day Weekend”

  1. Autumn Bucket List « life by britney Says:

    […] Take an extended weekend camping trip […]

  2. Mandy Says:

    So glad to be a part of this weekend! Can’t wait to do it again sometime!

Leave a Reply

