Christmas 2010

This year Mark and I spent Christmas in Houston with his parents, grandparents, siblings and nephew. Somehow we were both able to take off an entire week {thank you Lord} and we spent most of our evenings catching up with old high school friends and just enjoying being disconnected from our normal lives. I didn’t take a single picture the entire trip and to be honest I feel quite liberated by that fact. Every time I get upset with myself for not having photographic evidence of my memories I think of the song 3×5 by John Mayer and I’m reminded that pictures aren’t everything, memories of time with loved ones are what matter.

These are some of those lovely memories that will live in my heart forever:

– Driving around the neighborhood on Christmas Eve night to see all the lights.

– Even though I’m 24 I still had trouble sleeping due to excitement.

– Logan getting his first train set from Santa and lying on the ground watching the wheels spin.

– Tammy tearing up after opening a gift certificate from us for a complimentary bathroom renovation.

– Mark claiming his favorite gift was his new tennis bag.

– Sleeping on our new Tempur-Pedic pillows for the first time {heaven}.

– Catching up with old friends.

– Thinking we could finish the bathroom in one day.

– Vowing to never buy a house with existing wallpaper.

– Driving back to Austin at 9pm on New Years Eve and watching the fireworks along the way.

Another great Christmas in the books. I am so incredibly grateful that we were able to spend that much time with family, especially Mark’s dad who came from London and his grandparents who traveled from Boston. Hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Christmas 2010”

  1. Tammy Rand Says:

    The bathroom is fabulous – the amount of love, time and extra effort that went into each stroke of the paintbrush, scrape of the old wallpaper and patience with me – is more than I can truly thank you both for….but my heart will always be warmed with the gift of “you” that was given so freely.
    Love you,
    Tammy / Mom

  2. Michael Says:

    I would love to see the new bathroom someday….and the train set, too……

    Michael

Leave a Reply

