Goodbye Kaiser, Hello Copa

For the past 10 years I’ve been the proud owner of these Adidas Kaiser cleats; my parents bought them for me when I started the 8th grade. I broke them in during my last two seasons of club soccer and then they sat unused in my closet for a couple of years during of high school. There will always be a part of me that wonders what my life might have been like if I had been able to attend a larger school that had a soccer program; I loved playing so much back then.

When I went off to college I got involved in intramurals; I bought new socks and shin guards but kept my same old cleats. Being able to play again reminded me how much I missed soccer and I just couldn’t get enough. So after Mark and I got married and moved to Austin, I joined the Round Rock Women’s Soccer League. After playing a full year in this league I’ve decided that it’s finally time to retire the Kaisers. I know this sounds kind of silly getting sentimental over some old shoes but together with soccer in general they’ve been a big part of my life.

The new cleats are technically a birthday present but it took me a while to find a vendor locally that carried them. After some searching I found a great little soccer shop at 183 and Burnet called Soccer Post. I upgraded to the Copas which are made out of kangaroo leather instead of cow; it’s amazing the quality difference between these and some $40 cleats off the rack at Academy. Right now I’m still in the process of breaking them in but eventually the leather will conform to my feet and it will feel like I’m not even wearing them.

Here’s to another 10 years of soccer!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

