New Music

After nearly 2 months of forgetting to activate my iTunes gift card stocking stuffer, I finally got around to it last night. It’s been so long since I’ve bought new music and my library is in dire need of some fresh tunes. Thanks to my iPhone and the shazam app I keep a running list of songs that I hear on the radio¬†and like enough to want to download; the problem is that there are over 50 songs on my “want” list. Another problem is that I am very much a fan of downloading entire albums instead of individual songs; many times my favorite songs from an album end up being some of the less mainstream ones that I would never have found if I hadn’t purchased the whole thing.

Then I remembered that one of my favorite artists, Sara Bareilles, released a new album last fall, Kaleidoscope Heart. After sampling a few songs I downloaded it and I am in love! It just amazes me how talented she is, and that voice…wow. I first became a Sara B fan back when I was interning in Sacramento; I heard of her through a coworker who actually went to high school with her. During those 4 amazing months I really grew in my independence and self confidence since I was out on my own in a new state and I will always remember her music as sort of being a soundtrack for that segment of my life.

I’ve only had her new album for about 24 hours but I think I’ve already found my favorite song…

I can already tell this is going onto the summer time playlist :)

Tags:

Leave a Reply

