New Favorite Verses

Over the course of Lent I attempted to crack open my bible for a few minutes every day and for the most part I accomplished that {with the exception of a few days here and there}. I would jot down verses that caught my eye throughout the day and then study them a little more in depth in the evening. I really enjoyed venturing further into the bible and finding tons of passages that resonated with me. Here are a few of my favorites that I discovered:

“Above all, love each other deeplly, because love covers over a multitude of sins. Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling. Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.” – 1 Peter 4:8-10

I LOVE this verse. Right now I’m not exactly using my God-given talents in my job and that’s something I’ve been struggling with. I want to find a way to use my talents in service to others in a way that is pleasing to God.

“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment…Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quite spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” – 1 Peter 3:3-4

So many times I find myself standing in my closet pouting because I feel like I have nothing acceptable to wear and I hate it; I hate how much importance is placed on appearances. Thank goodness I have a husband who constantly brings me back to reality and reminds me that I look beautiful whether or not I’m dressed up or even have makeup on.

“No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” – Hebrews 12:11

This is a tough one but a very good one also. We discovered this verse thanks to Dave Ramsey.

“By faith Abraham, when called to go to a place he would later receive a inheritance, obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going…For he was looking forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and builder is God.” – Hebrews 11:8 & 10

I feel as if this is where I am in my life now…I’m at the beginning of a great journey, the destination of which is still unknown, and all I can do is trust that where I’m headed is a place built by God specifically for me. Thinking of God as the architect of my life is a cool concept that had never crossed my mind before.

“As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead.” – James 2:26

Note to self: merely believing is not enough; serve, serve and serve some more.

“Be careful not to do your ‘acts of righteousness’ before men, to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven…But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” – Matthew 6:1, 3 & 4

It’s easy to be proud of yourself for doing good and to want to share that experience with others but serving in secret is true service because there is absolutely nothing in it for you.

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Pretty much sums it up.

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.” – Colossians 3:23-24

This is a big one for me; it completely changes the dynamics of why I’m working in the first place…work as if I’m working for the Lord, not for men.

“…the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” – Galatians 5:22-24

I had to break this one down to get the full meaning of it so I pulled out a thesaurus and got to work figuring out what each of these fruits meant to me…

Love: passionate affection, devotion, unconditional

Joy: great delight, elation, gladness

Peace: contentment, tranquility, freedom from distraction, anxiety and conflict

Patience: steady perseverance, even-tempered, diligence, fortitude, poise

Kindness: considerate, helpful, altruistic

Goodness: moral, virtuous, integrity

Faithfulness: true, loyal, constant, reliable, dutiful, devoted, obedient, trustworthy

Gentleness: pleasant, mellow, moderate

Self Control: will, balance, restraint, discipline

I find myself wanting to memorize these great verses so I can have them with me always but for now I’ll continue to write them in my little moleskine notebook. Hopefully someday it will be full of thoughts, verses, inspirations and ideas that I can read back through like a personalized book.

One Response to “New Favorite Verses”

  1. Whitney Says:

    Love this post. Thank you for the great quotes…these are the ones you don’t see every day and some of them I had read for the first time! I want to print some of these out.

Leave a Reply

