Rowing Love

I finally did it. I took rowing lessons on Lady Bird Lake! My last class was this past Thursday and I have to say that it was the most fun and challenging sport I’ve ever experienced. When we first moved to Austin I remember seeing the rowers out on the lake during our downtown excursions and I always said to myself that I should try it out. Now {almost two years later} I decided it was time and signed myself up for the intro class at Austin Rowing Club.

Let me first start off by saying that ARC is great; their staff is friendly and helpful, their coaches are very experienced teachers and the environment is just perfect. In ITR {intro to rowing} we learned how to use the ergs for training, how to properly execute a rowing stroke, how to get the boats in and out of the water, tons of rowing terminology, boat safety and most importantly how to row together as a crew.

Our class started out in the 8 person boats where I quickly began to favor the 7 position just behind the stroke seat. One day there was a crew there for practice that was one man short; my coach volunteered me and I got to row with an experienced crew! It was refreshing to be challenged in something new and to struggle to keep up with the rest. I ended up with a few new friends, a few new scars and a growing love for crew rowing.

Eventually we tried sculling as well {two oars per person as opposed to just one}. My first experience with sculling was less than ideal because we went out in a quad and we had a terrible time staying together with our strokes. Luckily we were able to try the single scull during our last two classes and I have to admit, I think it’s my favorite. In the single scull you can go at your own pace, focus more intensely on your stroke and be completely alone on the water. I’m not much of a morning person but I’d be fully willing to wake up at 5am to row alone on the still waters. I can only imagine how relaxing and meditative the rhythmic clacking of oarlocks and the patter of blades skimming across the water must be at that time of day.

Though I most likely won’t be joining a crew or the club any time soon {for proximity to home reasons}, I know that I’ve found another hobby that I can enjoy in the future. Just one more reason to move closer to downtown someday!

2 Responses to “Rowing Love”

  1. Whitney Says:

    Love these pics of the oars and docks. Also your poetic description of sculling! So glad we are doing this!!

  2. 2011 Summer Bucket List « life by britney Says:

    […] Take rowing lessons {I’ve always wanted to try sculling} – […]

Leave a Reply

