Paleo Challenge: Week 2

Now that we have a full 14 days of Paleo eating under our belt I have to say that the second week was definitely easier than the first week. Eating nothing but meat and produce is starting to actually feel normal. Sure, we occasionally have little cravings for things like bread or sweets {particularly when going out to eat and we have to watch our friends enjoy the free bread} but I’ve found that the saying “out of sight, out of mind” can’t be truer. When we eat at home {which is 98% of the time} we have access to tons of great things to munch on but it’s when we go out into the non-Paleo world that we are surrounded by temptation. Slowly but surely I’m starting to see those “temptations” for what they truly are {sugary, carbo-loaded & processed} and they are becoming less and less tempting.

Whenever we do go out to eat it’s been kind of fun to find things on the menu that we can have. So far we’ve been to a steakhouse-type restaurant and a Mongolian grill; it’s pretty easy to order a steak and vegetables at a steakhouse and at the Mongolian grill we simply loaded up on the good stuff and skipped the noodles.

The best part about going Paleo, for me, has been all of the cooking that I’ve gotten to do. So far we haven’t repeated any recipes as we’re trying to avoid boredom and burnout which means I’m constantly searching the web for new ideas. Here are a few recipes that we have tried and absolutely loved:

Chili – I made this in our slow cooker and threw in any leftover chopped up vegetables that I had in the refrigerator. Seriously the best chili I’ve ever had.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork – This made a ton of pulled pork and we ate it throughout the entire week…we made lettuce wraps with tomato and avocado, threw some in our scrambled eggs for breakfast or just ate it by itself. I love recipes that are versatile like this one.

Pulled pork lettuce wraps with tomato and avocado

Roasted Brussels Sprouts & Bacon – Neither of us had ever tried Brussels sprouts before and this recipe definitely made us Brussels sprouts lovers.

Stir-fried Kale & Bacon – Kale is one of those things that I know I should eat because it’s good for me but I don’t really like how it tastes. Adding bacon actually made it taste yummy!

Roasted Carrot Fries – I was super skeptical about these but I went ahead and gave them a try and I’m sooo glad that I did because they taste EXACTLY like sweet potato fries, no kidding.

Bun-less burgers and roasted carrot fries

Fruit Leather – Just like fruit roll-ups except they are 100% real fruit. From now on every time I see strawberries on sale I’m going to get a bunch and make this.

Bacon & eggs, our typical breakfast

The only downside to going Paleo has been our increased grocery bill :( it’s gone up about 50-60%. Initially that’s pretty tough to swallow but I guess I’d rather pay the price for healthy food now than pay the price of eating unhealthy food later, right? Right.

Leave a Reply

