Bookshelf Refresh

My dad and I made this bookshelf together back in 2000 and it has stayed with me throughout high school, college and now married life. I had always liked its unfinished look but over the past few years Mark and I have gravitated more towards darker woods in our furniture choices and it just didn’t fit in very well next to our dark walnut desk.

So I grabbed a leftover can of primer and got to work. I set up a little painting station out on our balcony and used a mini roller and a brush to apply the one coat of primer. It was so terribly tedious and it took FOR-E-VER…so long in fact that I changed my painting plans and decided to go the spray paint route.

And thank goodness I did because it only took me about an hour to apply three nice and thin coats of spray paint where it definitely would have taken me at least three hours to do three coats of regular brush/roll-on paint {including drying time}. I used up 5 cans of Rust-Oleum in ultra white gloss, about 2 cans’ worth of which ended up contributing to the ozone problem and 1 can’s worth of which stuck to my arms, legs and face {I remembered the hat and mask but should have worn long-sleeves and pants too…hindsight}.

Thanks to the wonderful world of Pinterest {in which I spend way too much time} I came across the idea of applying fabric to the backs of the shelves using ModPodge. I found this pattern at JoAnn’s, cut the pieces using approximate measurements then cut them exactly to size by laying them inside the shelves and marking the inside corners with a pencil. Using a cheap throwaway brush I applied one coat of ModPodge to the inside of the shelf then laid the fabric on top of it; once it was dry I applied one more coat on top of the fabric. The ModPodge is basically watered down glue that dries clear and leaves a hard and durable finish. Here’s the shelf after…

…and filled with books, pictures and other things…

It’s a totally different bookshelf now, I just love how bright and happy it is.

2 Responses to “Bookshelf Refresh”

  1. Mark W. Rand Says:

    Well done oh wonderful GIL. Isn’t it a great feeling to see your ideas and effort result in something beautifulexciting and useful. Decorating your piece is where you really shine. Was your hubby pleased with your work?
    Reminds me of a desk that I made in CA which lasted long enough to be used by Shelby as she attended college 55 Years later. Who knows where your shelf will end up and when?
    Another beauty GIL,
    G’pa

    • britneyanne Says:

      Thank you so much! Your compliments are greatly appreciated :) I’ve had to save that bookshelf a few times from my hub’s desire to get rid of it, now his tune has changed and he likes it much better.

Leave a Reply

