Catching Up

Life and time have been flying by very quickly lately; I feel as if we finally got into a routine and as a result the weeks have disappeared {is Thanksgiving seriously this week??}. I’ve neglected the blog a bit and I’ve got plenty of pictures to post and write about so I’m going to do my best to get them all posted asap.

The weather here has been exceptional over the past couple of months, I guess this is what a real fall season feels like. With highs barely reaching 70 and lows in the 40’s I find myself wanting to go for a beautiful walk around the local golf course nearly every single day.

Our turkey friends still come to visit quite often. They always seem to be traipsing around the property without a care in the world. I doubt anyone would actually consider hunting one of these big guys but sure I hope they find a good hiding spot this week when the grocery stores run out of their frozen buddies.

Every other Sunday afternoon you’ll find me on the soccer fields with my new coed team. For whatever reason all of the games are scheduled for Sunday mornings so I alternate between skipping the game and going to the earlier church service.

Playing on outdoor turf is amazing {except for the turf burn} and our fields have a beautiful view of Mount Diablo; combine those factors with the mild weather and you’ve got the recipe for a perfect day of soccer.

Mark’s sales territory recently changed with the new fiscal year plus he now has a new boss so he is staying busy with that, sometimes putting a thousand miles on his car in a week! When I have a day off during the week I still like to ride along with him to wherever he’s driving that day so we can spend a little more time together and maybe see a new part of California while we’re at it. My job is just that, a job, but the longer I’m there the more responsibility I gain and the flexibility I have has been great. As always I’m constantly searching for something new that will challenge me in a a different way; I’ve gone through my fair share of interviews but nothing has stuck yet…sometimes being patient and waiting for God’s next move is just rough.

The one HUGE thing in our lives that is better than we could have imagined is the friendship that we have found in our new friends here. We have a small group dinner/study on Wednesdays, some of us usually get together on the weekends and we see each other at church on Sundays. When we were in Austin I always felt that we were missing something {meaningful, Godly friendships} and now that we have them I see how much we were actually missing out on.

More accounts of our lives to come soon, promise :)

Leave a Reply

