Final Countdown

Race week is finally here! I haven’t begun to get nervous yet but I’m sure I will on Friday when I’m in Walnut Creek to pick up my race packet at the expo. I went with my mom to an expo for one of her Rock ‘n Roll half marathons in San Antonio and I remember the general feeling of excitement and anticipation in the air; I can’t wait to experience it all again but from a runner’s perspective this time.

We’ve got our pre-race dinner and race morning breakfast all planned out…the night before we’re going to have loaded baked potatoes with ground beef, broccoli and cheese and in the morning we’ll do bananas with peanut butter and a granola bar or toast.

Based on my training and my average pace during some longer runs my goal for race day is to maintain a 12:30 pace which would have me finishing with a total time of 2:43:52. The GPS on my phone (which assists the Nike+ app) has been a little off, it thinks I run anywhere from a 9:30 pace to a 13:00 pace and jumps around sporadically, so I’ll probably have to calculate my pace in my head during the race and figure out the exact times once I’m across the finish line. To be honest, I’ll be happy with anything under 3 hours but I know that I’m capable of finishing under 2:45:00 so that’s my goal!

In these last couple of days before the race we’re doing our best to eat well, drink lots of water, stretch and roll our legs each day, go on a couple relaxed runs and get lots of sleep. This will be the longest distance that either of us have ever run and we’re both super excited to cross the finish, tired and sweaty :) Did I mention that thanks to some very generous donations from family and friends Mark and I both met our donation goals?? Thanks to all of you we raised enough money for over 32 people to have fresh water for life! WOO HOO!!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

