Canvas Art

Many months ago I pinned this idea onto my “Crafty” board on Pinterest…

canvas01

The concept was so simple that I knew I could create something similar on my own. So last weekend, armed with a Michael’s gift card that I received for Christmas {thanks, Jenna!}, I set out to gather the needed materials. At the time a certain brand of canvas just happened to be 70% off so I grabbed one large and one small plus some craft paint and acrylic Helvetica letters. Then I swung by Half Price Books and found an old book of piano sheet music for $2. The innocent girl behind the counter suggested a music shop in a nearby town that had tons more piano music to browse; I just nodded, acting interested because I didn’t have the heart to tell her that my intentions were to rip the pages from the book as soon as I got it home, hehe.

canvas02

The process went something like this…rip sheet music into strips, coat a section of canvas with ModPodge, place paper strips on canvas, then coat again with ModPodge to seal. This went on for a while as I worked my way from the bottom of the canvas up. Then once it was completely dry I lightly traced a line with my straight edge to serve as a reference for my lettering.

canvas03

I worked on the smaller canvas first, sort of as a trial run, to make sure that everything was going to work out correctly before I tackled the larger canvas.

canvas04

After all of the letters were in place I squirted a few shades of yellow paint onto a paper plate and started painting. There was absolutely no rhyme or reason to my technique, my goal was simply to paint it yellow and vary the shade for a little added texture. I removed the letters as soon as I finished applying the paint and I was immediately unimpressed…I should have gone with a darker paint so the letters would stand out more plus the letters appear to be misaligned thanks to the lines on the sheet music being placed diagonally.

canvas05

Not wanting the larger canvas to turn out the same as the smaller one, I applied the lettering and decided to call it finished…for now. I might paint it someday and remove the letters but for now I like the way it looks. We’ve got it hanging above our bed and it’s one of the first things we see each morning :)

canvas06

Until now I’ve pretty much ignored decorating our bedroom so it feels good to finally have something on the walls in there. I’m sure I’ll be adding more to it over the coming months!

canvas07

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Canvas Art”

  1. Cristina Tomescu Says:

    Where did you get the letters from please?

    • britneyanne Says:

      I found them at Hobby Lobby in the aisle with the architecture supplies (x-acto blades, straight edges, cutting mats, etc.)

Leave a Reply

